Leave a comment

Zen Fairy Tales

I am currently working on a grown-ups version of Cherry Blossoms for Children – Life Lessons to Grow By, entitled Zen Fairy Tales. Below is a short question and answer session one commonly sees on book blog sites to engage readers’ interest with authors’ newest books and ongoing creativity.

Q: What is the working title of your current book?

A: I am presently working on a unique book I have tentatively entitled Hip Zen Fairy Tales. I got the idea to do this when a friend asked me if I could come up with something that was deep and at the same time entertaining.

Q: What genre does your book fall under?

A: It isn’t a question of genre unless you put it into the category of humor, wit, coolness … whatever. I use what may be considered to be ‘hip’ jargon, but not to the extent that it becomes boring. The book is aimed at what I would call children of all ages, depending upon what you call children of all ages. There is nothing desultory or obscene in it, so it could go anywhere, I guess. I also include short moral lessons and meditations at the end of each tale to enhance the story line. The book isn’t for kiddies … but it could be.

Q: Briefly, describe the main characters in your book.

A: The work revolves around an oriental sage named Mokubei, whom some readers have determined is me in another guise, and my grandson as Tomo-san, his young charge. There are various and sundry characters that complement the stories.

Q: In one sentence, what is the synopsis of your book?

A: Essentially, life lessons to grow by and moral predicaments that take on a notion of contemporary behavior to produce results you want to experience.

Q: What actors would you choose to play the part of your character in a movie rendition?

A: For Mokubei, I would choose myself. Why not? Hey, give Jackie Chan a call. He’s cool, and funny too. The young people and other characters could be gleaned from Central Casting. It would be nice if things got to that level. I can also see it as a cartoon series.

Q: How long did it take you to write the first draft?

A: About an hour and a half for the complete set of 36 tales. Just kidding! I got into it and focused my energies on the end result of what I was trying to do and knocked it out in about two, maybe three weeks.

Q: What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

A: Aesop’s Fables. Maybe, James Thurber’s Tales for Our Time, Steve Allen’s Bop Fables. And, stop with the ‘genre’ thing; it makes it more than it’s supposed to be. It’s a fun book. Of course, it can be done as a straight chapter book or with the inclusion of tasty illustrations. Anyone interested? No money, but good exposure (chuckle, chuckle).

Q: Who or what inspired you to write this book?

A: At first I didn’t take to the idea, even though my friend thought it would be cool. Then, I had flashes of inspiration, if you will, and I said to myself, Do it! And, I did.

Q: What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest?

A: I think it might be the realistic interplay between all of the characters and the specific situations they encounter in their normal travels through life. Besides, Mokubei is such a together dude (wink, wink).

For more info on the author, visit: http://www.hanshi.com

Leave a Reply

