Leave a comment

Fiction Character Interview

A very good idea was presented to me about interviewing the protagonist in my Hanshi David Mann action/adventure series of novels, The Hanshi of Central Park and The Hanshi in Brussels. This will give my readers a bit of insight into the mind and motivation of my fiction hero, David Mann.

Question: Who are you?

Response: My name is David Mann. I am a high ranking martial arts master and author of a number of renown books. I have spent my life in studying the why and wherefore of concepts that can illuminate my place in the overall order of things. I deal with the foibles that accompany any man’s life and generally laugh at the absurdities that all life has to deal with on the level of survival and trying to understand the reason for existence. I have come to understand what all is about, and though you may not agree with me, I do not attempt to foist my revealizations of anyone else. People should determine for themselves the tragedy of their own inconsequence.

Question: What is your story?

Response: My story? What can I tell you? I practice my martial skills and meditate on higher consciousness on a daily basis. I mind my own business and pretty much keep to myself. Because I have an awareness that maintains me in a self sufficient universe, I still realize that there are certain things that will occur in life that essentially may come from a source that even I have been unable to determine the reason for, such as what happened that morning in Central Park that seemingly had absolutely nothing to do with my ideas about myself. There are the anomalies of life that run inside, or to put it in a better perspective, beneath the surface of all things that are for whatever reason important in the overall understanding of my place in the scheme of things.

Question: Where do you live and train?

Response: I live with my girlfriend, Sharon, and we share an apartment on the upper east side of Manhattan. We have a cocker spaniel name Thatcher. I have a number of people in my life that are sympathetic to my ideals as I am toward theirs. I don’t have scads of so-called friends, and I keep pretty much to myself, amusing myself with distractions that give me pleasure for whatever reason I deem necessary for myself to live my life by.

Question: Are you the hero of your own story?

Response: Definitely. I have come to terms with my own reality and acknowledge that everyone is the hero of their own story. As to whether or not they will accede to that reality is based on their own desire to be masters of their own universe.

Question: What is your problem in the story?

Response: I usually go to Central Park with one of my students and we work out every morning with straight ahead karate and sai, which is a quasi-bladed Okinawan weapon. I also do some kenjutsu sword work to keep in shape. One morning, I got caught up in a NYPD drug sting that I had nothing to do with, but some chick cop tosses a shot at me when I happen upon their ridiculous setup. In order to defend myself, I executed specific martial moves that got me out of harms way and allowed me to realign my own reality. There is conflict, however, in that a lot of people get involved and try to implicate me in the nonsense that had previously ensued as part of their own fallacies.

Question: Do you embrace conflict or do you run from conflict?

Response: I don’t look for trouble, and when it happens by some weird chance, I walk away from it. I do not let strings hang and prefer to end all situations that are interfering with my life so that I don’t have to deal with them at a later time. Should they re arise, then I deal with them to maintain a semblance of order.

Question: How do you see yourself?

Response: As the center of the universe, as most people should if they are intent upon ascending to higher levels of personal awareness. Those who would seek attainment should definitely aspire to find the right path though it may not necessarily be that of truth, especially in the beginning of a personal quest.

Question: How do your friends see you?

Response: Ask them.

Question: How do your enemies see you?

Response: Ask them.

Question: Do you have a hero?

Response: Aside from who you are presently talking to, I do have certain heroes that are directly involved with the things that give me pleasure: great artists and musicians; naming them would be an endless list, as well as certain men of science and a number of great generals.

Question: Do you have a goal?

Response: I am my goal.

Question: What are your achievements?

Response: Aside from having written a lot of important books, learning to play my saxophone to levels of sophisticated expression, practicing my arts, taking care of those in my immediate environment. I must say that the older I get, the more focused I become on the realities of my own existence. That is why I am able to be more compassionate and generous with my personal resources. I am lenient, but I am not indulgent.

Question: Do you have any special weaknesses?

Answer: I am sure I do.

Question: What are you afraid of?

Response: The fallacy of my own reality.

Question: What makes you angry?

Response: People who will go out of their way for any innocuous reason to bring about heartache and grief in others.

Question: What makes you happy?

Response: I do not concern myself with the absurd notion of happy or unhappy. This is based on my comprehension that there is no such thing as yin and yang.

Question: What makes you sad?

Response: Nothing makes me sad except for the foolishness of those I care for when they won’t try to get themselves together.

Question: Have you ever failed at anything?

Response: Most of the things I have done in life, until I got to understand that there is no such thing as yin and yang.

Question: Has anyone ever failed or betrayed you?

Response: Definitely. And with my own misunderstanding, I cursed them wholeheartedly until I began to realize the their action was based on my own inadequacies.

Question: Have you ever failed or betrayed anyone?

Response: I am sure that I certainly did.

Question: What people and events have had the most profound effect on you?

Response: Diz, Mingus, Kenton, Beethoven, Dali, Plato, the film Apocalypse Now, Ayn Rand, Miyamoto Musashi, Sun Tzu; this would be another endless list.

Question: Do you have any hobbies?

Answer: Yes. My entire life.

Question: What is your most prized possession?

Answer: My tenor saxophone and my sword.

Question: Was there a major turning point in your life?

Response: Besides getting involved with the martial world, my years in the military.

For more info on the author and to purchase books, visit http://www.hanshi.com

Available as Kindle and NOOK book formats as well.

Leave a Reply

