Leave a comment

Using Hands During an Approach

What would happen if Sun Tzu, Musashi, and Kaufman met and conversed on the art of negotiation in high-power dealing making and enterprise control? The Sword in the Boardroom talks about all of their ideas, clearly and with functionality for today’s world.

Musashi – There is a proper way to hold your hand out when receiving an offering or giving one. When shaking hands, my grip is both firm and relaxed at the same time. This also applies to handling weapons or documents. I make sure not to squeeze or put too much pressure on anything I am using so as not to lose control of its benefit. I hold it with resolve and in a manner that will permit me to change direction if necessary. My nails are always clean and manicured when I offer something in a direct manner that will not offend the person or group I am approaching. I never push anything into someone’s face unless it is germane to the kill. I use my index and middle finger for support with the thumb on top. In this manner I direct my intentions with authority. It is the same when I am holding my sword and prepared to strike. The attitude of relaxed hands also reflects through my entire body. At the same time, it sustains confidence. Instead of waving my hands around, I use them to emphasize certain points. Any other action indicates a weak and limited resolve. If I encounter a strong objection and I am not poised for action, the possibility exists that I can drop what I am offering. In such a manner I can lose control of the situation even if it is only momentary, which is all an astute enemy needs to gain the advantage. I will then have to restructure my thoughts to regain control and it may be with difficulty—difficulty because of the need to make extra moves away from my resolved intent. In negotiations, as in anything else, the hands must be ready to make definitive moves towards whatever is needed. Not following this method indicates an inability to focus with complete conviction. When my hands are firm and relaxed, I have no problem focusing the enemy’s attention and he will be easily diverted.

Kaufman – There is no reason to change your carriage when you make an approach. The only idea you should have is winning. When you cause the opposition to lose control while parrying their objections, do not change your attitude by relinquishing anything for the wrong reason. Do not permit yourself to be smug, as it will cause problems. Likewise, when an objection is put aside, you must be intent on following up with a powerful close to win at that very moment. You must mean it when you approach to close. If you don’t, it will be very obvious. The only reason you approach is to make the close. There is no other reason to do it. Negotiations are not to determine who is clever or who knows more people.

Sword in the Boardroom is available at:

http://www.hanshi.com/books and Amazon

Leave a Reply

